Gov Dickson defeats Sylva, others to win Bayelsa governorship election

Governor Seriake Dickson of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won the just concluded governorship election in Bayelsa State.

Dickson who was declared winner Sunday night by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) defeated his closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and other candidates.

According to the final result as announced by INEC returning officer Prof Zana Akpagu is Dickson scored 134,998 votes while Sylva scored 86,552 votes.